Hey everyone, I have a rules question that I’d like the groups opinion on. Here is the backdrop....I’m playing in a member-guest, there is some decent money at stake for a lot of players. It’s not uncommon to see north of $5,000 change hands among teams after three days. We have 9 flights with 8 teams each. The rule booklet clearly states USGA rules apply.
Most people know the you can’t use a range finder with slope mode enabled. We are on the 8th holes of a nine hole match. Severe downhill par 3. We shoot the pin at 168, the other team says its 154. Huh? How’d you get that number? Our range finder calculates slope. A discussion follows in which they say rules allow for a range finder to be used with slope. We say no. They say they’ve been using it during the match.
Wed take it to the pro, he confirms the rule. Says that it is automatic loss of hole in match play. The pro takes it to the committee.
How would you rule? How would you apply the penalty to previous holes?